After a Kelis Instagram fan page claimed the new Beyoncé album featured a sample of her music on the song “Energy,” Kelis took to the comments to claim the song was stolen, not borrowed.  “My mind is blown too because the level of disrespect and utter ignorance of all 3 parties involved is astounding,” she wrote in the comments via her business account, according to Yahoo. “I heard about this the same way everyone else did. Nothing is ever as it seems, some of the people in this business have no soul or integrity and they have everyone fooled,” she reportedly added.  She later added another comment, writing: “It’s not a collab it’s theft.”  Kelis then followed up with a video message shared to her personal Instagram account, where she told her followers, “My real beef, is not only with Beyoncé, because at the end of the day, she sampled a record, she’s copied me before, so have many other artists, it’s fine, I don’t care about that.”   Instead, the “Milkshake” singer explained that she was more upset that no one had the “common decency” to reach out to her for permission to use the sample of the song, which some fans speculate is actually owned by Pharrell Williams, who cofounded the production duo The Neptunes with Chad Hugo.  “I know what I own and what I don’t own. I also know that lies were told. I also know the things that were stolen,” Kelis continued in her heated message, seemingly referring to her past claims that she was “blatantly lied to and tricked” at the beginning of her career, causing her to miss out on all earnings from the sale of her first two albums, she told The Guardian back in 2020.   “Publishing was stolen, people were swindled out of rights. it happens all the time, especially back then. So it’s not about me being mad at Beyoncé,” she continued in her Instagram message on Thursday, July 28, while going on to call out Williams, saying: “Pharrell knows better. This is a direct hit at me. He does this stuff all the time. It’s very petty.” She concludes the video message by saying the whole ordeal is “stupid and disrespectful,” and that someone should have reached out to her to ask for permission.  In the caption next to the video, Kelis claims: “I’m coming for what’s mine and I want reparations.”  As of writing, Pharrell and Beyoncé have not addressed the comments.  More Entertainment:

14 Things to Watch July 29 - Aug. 5: ‘Not Okay,’ ‘Snake in the Grass’ and How Humans are Helping Plants

Freddie Prinze Jr. Jokes He Will Only Make Movies in One Genre From Now On

Everything New on Netflix in August 2022