“I’ll tell you why I’m here: I’m here ‘cause I’m Black,” the Rothaniel comic said in his speech introducing the broadcast. “I’ll tell you what’s been going on. This show, the Golden Globe Awards, did not air last year because the Hollywood Foreign Press Association—which I won’t say were a racist organization, but they didn’t have a single Black member until George Floyd died. So do with that information what you will. I’ll tell you how I got here.” “One minute you’re making mint tea at home, the next minute you’re invited to be the Black face of an embattled organization," he cracked. “Life comes at you pretty fast, you know?” Pointing out that the Golden Globes hadn’t had a Black host in 79 years, Carmichael cracked, “I’m un-fireable. I took this job assuming they hadn’t changed at all.” Carmichael, 35, said he was paid $500,000 to host the Golden Globes telecast, explaining that in his family and where he’s from, everyone has a “’take the money’ mentality.” He closed on a cheery note, telling the crowd, “I’m here, truly, because all of you. I look out to this room and I see a lot of talented people, like people that I admire, people that I would like to be like, people I’m jealous of, and the people that are actually really incredible artists. And regardless of whatever the Hollywood Foreign Press Association’s past may be, this is an evening when we get to celebrate and I think this industry deserves evenings like these, and I’m happy you all are here.” Next, see the best styles from the 2023 Golden Globes red carpet.